U.S. Drought Portal


Who We Are

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is taking the lead in implementing the National Integrated Drought Information System (NIDIS).

The NIDIS Program Office was established at NOAA's Earth System Research Laboratory in Boulder, Colorado, in 2007. Roger Pulwarty is the director and Veva Deheza is the deputy director.

Roger is also chair of the NIDIS Program Implementation Team. The team co-chairs are Kelly Redmond and Mike Hayes.

An equally impressive lineup of researchers and science communicators serve on the Implementation Team:

  • Deborah Bathke, National Drought Mitigation Center 
  • Michael Brewer, NOAA/National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)/National Climatic Data Center 
  • Mark Brusberg, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)/Office of the Chief Economist
  • Art DeGaetano, Northeast Regional Climate Center
  • Nolan Doesken, Colorado Climate Center (Colorado State University)
  • Eric Evenson, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Water Census lead
  • Gary Collins, Indigenous Water Network
  • Michael Hayes, National Drought Mitigation Center 
  • Charles Henning, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
  • Wayne Higgins, NOAA/National Weather Service/Climate Prediction Center
  • Steve Hilberg, Midwestern Regional Climate Center
  • Margaret Hiza Redsteer, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Doug Kluck, NOAA/NESDIS/National Climatic Data Center
  • Tom Iseman, Western Governors' Association
  • Annarita Marrioti, NOAA/Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research (OAR)/Climate Program Office
  • Hope Mizzell, South Carolina State Climatology Office
  • Phil Mote, Oregon State University
  • Rolf Olsen, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • Phillip Pasteris, CH2M Hill, Inc.
  • Roger Pulwarty, Chair, NOAA/OAR/Climate Program Office
  • Kelly Redmond, Western Regional Climate Center
  • David Robinson, Rutgers University, New Jersey State Climatologist
  • Siegfried Schubert, National Aeronautics and Space Administration 
  • Mark Shafer, University of Oklahoma
  • Anne Steinemann, University of Washington
  • Jean Steiner, USDA/Agricultural Research Service 
  • Mark Svoboda, National Drought Mitigation Center
  • Dennis Todey, South Dakota State University, South Dakota State Climatologist
  • Jim Verdin, U.S. Geological Survey
  • Robert Webb, NOAA/OAR/Earth System Research Laboratory